Ray Lewis Named Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalist

Baltimore Ravens legend, Ray Lewis, has been named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Lewis, Baltimore’s star middle linebacker for 17 seasons, is one of 18 finalists for the Hall of Fame in Canton. Lewis was drafted by the Ravens in the team’s inaugural season in 1996. He was a major part of the Ravens’ 2000 defense, which is usually considered the best defense of all time. That year, Lewis led the team to a Super Bowl victory, with a 34-7 route of the New York Giants in Super Bowl XXXV. Lewis was named Super Bowl MVP for the game. Lewis would reach the championship one more time in his career. In 2012, Ray Lewis announced that the playoffs would be his last ride in the NFL. The Ravens went on to win Super Bowl XLVII. The team defeated the Jim Harbaugh led 49ers by a score of 34-31.

Many consider Ray Lewis to be a lock for the Hall of Fame this year. He is arguably the best middle linebacker of all time and was very successful throughout his storied career. Despite his status, Lewis still has to contend with 17 other finalists for a spot in the class. There’s no set limit to how many people can be inducted in the same year, but each finalist must receive at least 80% affirmative votes from the committee to be admitted into the Hall of Fame. Aside from Lewis, these are the other finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

  • Linebacker, Brian Urlacher
  • Running Back, Edgerrin James
  • Wide Receiver, Randy Moss
  • Wide Receiver, Terrell Owens
  • Wide Receiver, Isaac Bruce
  • Free Safety, John Lynch
  • Safety, Brian Dawkins
  • Cornerback, Everson Walls
  • Cornerback, Ty Law
  • Tackle, Tony Boselli
  • Center/Guard, Kevin Mawae
  • Tackle, Joe Jacoby
  • Guard, Steve Hutchinson
  • Guard, Alan Faneca
  • Linebacker, Robert Brazile (Senior)
  • Guard, Jerry Kramer (Senior)
  • General Manager, Bobby Beathard (Contributor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *